The Lyceum Club International d’Orléans was created in 1957 as a Franco-American club to develop exchanges between the wives of American military personnel based in Orleans as part of NATO and the women of Orleans.

For 10 years, Orleans women and American women exchanged and got to know each other better. The Orleans women discovered bowling, which had been imported by the Americans and was still unknown in France, while the Americans discovered the French way of life.

When the American base was closed, the links between them remained for a long time and the Orléans women wanted to maintain their club and created the Orléans-Lyceum women’s club on February 3, 1967.

The Orleans club was the 4th club created in France after Paris, Fontainebleau and Bordeaux.

The club became Lyceum club international d’orléans on June 16, 1996.

The club welcomes women who are sensitive to social issues and who wish to increase their knowledge in the field of arts, letters and sciences, in a spirit of friendship, solidarity and mutual aid.

With more than sixty years of existence, 18 Presidents, up to 100 members at one time and the memory of great and beautiful events, the club is still as dynamic as ever, strengthened by the experience of the older members and the contribution of the younger ones; open to the future, it is now seeking to recruit women in active life or young retirees.

The club is twinned with the Swiss club of La Chaux-de-Fonds since 1987.

The club is run by a board of directors of ten members elected for four years, including the president, two vice-presidents, a secretary and her assistant, and a treasurer and her assistant.

Members are recruited by co-option.

Applications, supported by 2 sponsors who are members of the club, are sent by letter to the President and then examined and approved by the Board of Directors.

Members : 77